About Us

The Federal University of Technology, Akure Alumni Association is an independent, non-profit, membership-based organization. The Association connects alumni to the University and to one another, mobilizes alumni support for the University, and provides valuable benefits, services and resources. FUTA Alumni Association members are a select group that cares most about the welfare and future of FUTA and its alumni community and identifies with the ideals and lofty aspiration of the University.
The secretariat of FUTA Alumni Association is housed within the Alhaji (Dr.) Isa Mustapha Alumni centre located opposite the new senate building of the Federal University of Technology, Akure. The Association is governed by the National Executive Council (NEC). The NEC is made up of members who are elected for a two-year term by fellow alumni during the annual National Convention of the Association. The NEC members are responsible for day-to-day running of the association through which they help shape and influence the direction of the Association. The Central Working Committee (CWC) of the association supervises the activities of NEC and is responsible for shaping policies for the association for approval of National Convention and implementation by NEC.

a brief history...

FUTA Alumni Association was born in 1987 and has grown to about 9,000 members by 2006. The foundation was laid by Mr. Ada Okungbowa, who was the pioneer national president of the Association, a position he held between 1988 and 2000. The main thrust of Mr. Okungbowa’s leadership was laying a foundation for a viral Association, which saw the emergence of a strong constitution for the association. It is this constitution that formed the bedrock which subsequent leadership of the Association built upon. By the year 2000, Engr Victor Ifezue took over the mantle of leadership, did the groundwork for the foundation of a modern Association, introduced glamour and a political dimension in the Association. Consequently, more members became interested in the activities of the Association. It was during his leadership that the first meeting of University convocation was called and the first FUTA Alumnus (Engr Victor Ifezue) elected a member of University Governing Council. Engr Ifezue led FUTA Alumni Association into the Conference of Alumni Association of Nigerian Universities (CAANU), where the Association has remained active and relevant to date. Engr Victor Ifezue handed over the mantle of leadership to Mr. Godwin Ebolo in 2004. The Ebolo led executive initiated moves for the Alumni Association to have a visible presence within FUTA, which finally paid off and later paved the way for the formal take off of the Alumni building project - the Alumni centre, which is named after the Chancellor of FUTA and grand patron of the Association, His Royal Highness Alhaji (Dr.) Isa Mustapha, CON, Agwai I, the Emir of Lafia. Mr. Ebolo handed over to the leadership of Prof. Jonathan C. Onyekwelu in 2006. The Onyekwelu led executive council vigorously pursued the completion of the Alumni Centre, establish new events of the Association in Abuja and the Diaspora, computerization of academic transcript issuance process in FUTA, etc. Prof. Onyekwelu took the Alumni Building project to the roofing level before handing over leadership to Mr. Gbenga Gbarada in 2008. has gotten to an advanced stage. Mr. Gbenga Gbarada became the Alumni President after the tenure of Prof. Jonathan Onyekwelu. He brought a lot of glamour to the Alumni association. The first Final Year Empowerment Programme was held during the regime and this was well packaged and anchored by a distinguished Alumni Mr. Innocent Oseghe who was a senior Partner with the KPMG. The Distinguished Alumni Lecture was delivered by Engr. Cyril Ajagu an insurance magnate and Philanthropist. The Oyo state Branch was inaugurated during this tenure with Professor Olorunisola as the first Branch Chairman. Pastor Wale Adelakun became the President 2010 after the tenure of Mr. Gbenga Gbarada. It was during his tenure that the Alumni Building was “savaged and roofed”. The Alumni Building Project was divided into two Phases and majorly restructured and redesigned for aesthetics and safety. He also organised the Final Year Empowerment Programme twice and a Merit Award night where all past leaders who had served the Alumni Association at the Branch and National levels were honoured. The Alumni Lecture during this tenure was delivered by Mr. Segun Aina (OFR) the President of Nigerian Institute of Bankers (NIB) and the Chairman Advancement Board of FUTA. It was during the tenure of Pastor Adelakun that the first Reunion of the Alumni Association held in London to give expression to the global dimension of the Alumni association. This explained why he popularised the title of “Alumni President World wide”. The Alumni association was ably represented in the Conference of Alumni Association of Nigerian Universities (CAANU) where he served as the Public Relation Officer from 2012-2016. The Abuja Branch was inaugurated during this tenure with Engr. Kopada as the first Branch Chairman. The tenure of Akin Aina completed the Phase 1 of the Alumni building and organised a very colourful inauguration programme for the building. He also organised the Launching of an endowment Fund for scholarship and Business Support Funding for Alumni. The Board was inaugurated with Aare Afe Babalola (SAN) as the Chairman.


The mission of FUTA Alumni Association is to connect FUTA alumni to the University and to one another, to provide valued services to members, and to support the University’s mission of teaching, research, and community development.


FUTA Alumni Association was set up to pursue the following aims and objectives: